Advice for a New Hamster Owner?

HeyitsHolly

Reaction score
Hi! I’m a beginner hamster owner of a Syrian named Holly. She’s had quite the journey: she lived in a frat house for a while in a tiny plastic cage with less than a centimeter of bedding. My brother is in the frat and we were able to get her out of that awful environment. She lived with him in his room for a while, but now she’s at home with me. She has a 20 gallon tank, which I know isn’t enough (I’m working on getting a bigger one - a 55 gallon hopefully - but it’s a process because I’m still in high school and don’t have infinite space). Sorry for the rant but long story short now I’m trying to learn EVERYTHING I can about how to take good care of her.
What are some of the best and most helpful tips you’ve ever gotten on hamster care?
IMG_3324.jpeg
Here’s Holly emerging from her slumber!

Hello and welcome :) Holly looks very cute and it's lovely you've taken her to give her a better home. Are you in the US? If so you can get a 160 or 200 quart bin to make a cage, from Homemart (apparently). I can't link it as I'm not in the US so the page won't open for me. ilguy on here has one.

A tank probably would be better for a Syrian though as the height can be limited with some of those big bins.

Most helpful tips? There are a lot on the home page articles :-) Especially under the cleaning tips section. For me when I first had a hamster, the most helpful tip was feeding early evening and making a bit of cage noise at the same time, so the hamster comes out at feeding time and it's an opportunity to have some out of cage time. As otherwise they can get up very late.

However, female Syrians can be notoriously maverick and she might be up anyway. They usually need a lot of space and plenty of things to destroy, like cardboard egg boxes, toilet roll inners etc. I'm sure she'd enjoy a home made treat parcel to destroy :-)

There are lots of inexpensive ideas on this thread